Skip to content

Bungalow Bargains: #2

July 14, 2010

Two days in a row? It can’t be happening. Mainly, as pointed out earlier, I think I am finding deals due to the lack of George Jeffreys. So today, after I finished all my planning, I decided to troll craigslist for a second to look for some punk records. I typed in Ramones, Sex Pistols, New York Dolls, The Clash, Suicidal Tendencies, etc. All came up with a big fat “no!” So frustrated, I typed in Kick Out the Jams by none other than MC5.

Funny story about MC5 will now begin…George Jefferys and I were trolling a vintage/hipster store and happened across a 1st edition, German import of MC5’s Kick Out The Jams for 6 dollars. Except…someone had melted it and turned it into a bowl. Baffled, we left that day unsure of why someone would ever do that. There sat and epic piece of punk rock, now made to hold keys, change, or decorative pine cones!

Well, today I scored a 3 lp anthology of MC5 that is limited to 500 pressed colored vinyl (red, white, and blue), complete with pin and original decal. Sure it was created in 2008, but nonetheless, I am calling it a win.

Items #2:

MC5 3 lp Box Anthology 1965-1971 released by Cleopatra Records.

Song Titles Include:

LP 1: (Red Vinyl)

  • 1. Kick Out the Jams
  • 2. Shakin’ Street
  • 3. The American Ruse
  • 4. Skunk (Sonically Speaking)
  • 5. Tutti Frutti
  • 6. Poison
  • 7. Gotta Keep Moving
  • 8. Tonight

LP 2 (White Vinyl)

  • 1. Sister Anne
  • 2. Future/Now
  • 3. Gold
  • 4. I Can Only Give You Everything
  • 5. One of the Guys
  • 6. I Just Don’t Know
  • 7. Looking At You
  • 8. Black To Comm

LP 3 (Blue Vinyl)

  • 1. I Don’t Mind
  • 2. High School [instrumental]
  • 3. Come Together [live]
  • 4. Baby Please Don’t Go [live]
  • 5. I’m a Man [live]
  • 6. Look What You’ve Done Done [live]
  • 7. Rocket Reducer No. 62 (Rama Lama Fa Fa Fa) [live 1968]
  • 8. Ramblin’ Rose [live 1970]
  • 9. Sister Anne [live with Lemmy (Motorhead) 2003] .

Location: Raleigh-Durham Craigslist – Brier Creek Area

Condition: NIB! These came unsealed from the factory according to my research.

Price: 12 dollars cash money (he wanted 20 bones!) I could not find any of these sets listed for sale on Ebay, and the Cd’s sell for 21 dollars in this set. I will accept this deal as a win!

Reason: You would be a fool to pass this up! Seriously a cool little box set. I can’t wait to listen to the live tracks. Sorry George!

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

