Skip to content

Shannon and the Clams “Sleep Talk”

June 8, 2011

Listening to Shannon and the Clams new album “Sleep Talk” puts me in a fantastic mood. Think Buddy Holly after he discovered distortion and developed a distinct growl and punch. The Clams previous record “I Wanna Go Home” was one of my favorite records in the past 2 years, so I had high expectations for “Sleep Talk.”

“Sleep Talk” is more diverse than “I Wanna Go Home” in my opinion. Shannon and The Clams have continued to not only refine their sound, but to include continued experimentation and engagement which makes their music fun, provoking, and exciting. The Blanchard’s guitar licks hum while Shaw’s voice maneuvers to create a “vintage” 50’s sound with punk, R&B, and Rockabilly elements scattered throughout the album. My only regret is not seeing this band when they passed through Durham a few months ago (being out of town sucks!). Now I want to sit here and review each individual song…but I rather you form your own perception of The Clams sound. Go on ahead and check them out.

More Info on Shannon and The Clams with Video, MP3, etc. 

From → Record Reviews

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

